The Greatest LEJOG Route Ever

Since writing Obsessive Compulsive Cycling Disorder I have had numerous requests for the route I rode during my second Lands End to John O’Groats ride. Helen and I are still working on an eBook to fully describe the adventure and the route in minute detail. However, I’m happy to share it with anyone looking for one of the greatest road cycling adventures ever.

Rest assured that this route was designed to take the cyclist away from all traffic and along the quieter lanes. Specifically the A9 in Scotland, hence the diversions across the West coast and the islands. The ferry journeys and logistics make the ride even more epic than it should be. I’ve split it into 12 days, starting from Lands End and ending in Wick to get a train home.

Day 1 – Lands End to Camelford
Day 2 – Camelford to Churchinford
Day 3 – Churchinford to Monmouth
Day 4 Monmouth to Ellesmere
Day 5 – Ellesmere to Chipping
Day 6 – Chipping to Wetheral
Day 7 – Wetheral to Tarbolton
Day 8 Tarbolton to Kilchrenan Part 1 Part 2 Part 3
Day 9 – Kilchrenan to Mallaig Part 1 Part 2 Part 3
Day 10 – Mallaig to Dingwall
Day 11 – Dingwall to Bettyhill
Day 12 – Bettyhill to John O’Groats then Wick

All GPX Files in one zip can be downloaded here

Note well, you undertake this route at your own risk. It is not an easy option.

Posted in Uncategorized